Osimhen, Aribo, Akpeyi Return As Rohr Unveil 24-Man Eagles Squad For 2021 AFCON

Osimhen, Aribo, Akpeyi Return As Rohr Unveil 24-Man Eagles Squad For 2021 AFCON Qualifiers Vs Sierra Leone

Victor Osimhen, Daniel Akpeyi and Joe Aribo have returned to the Super Eagles following the announcement of the 24-man squad for next month’s 2021 AFCON qualifiers against Sierra Leone, Completesports.com reports.

The names of the invited players was published on the NFF’s verified Twitter handle on Thursday.

Also making a return to the Eagles are Oghenekaro Etebo and Club Brugge forward Emmanuel Dennis.

There is a first call-up for 26-year-old Switzerland-born goalkeeper Sebastian Osigwe who plays for FC Lugano in the Swiss top flight.

Osimhen missed the Eagles’ friendly games against Algeria and Tunisia in Austria due to coronavirus issues at Napoli.

The trio of Etebo, Aribo and Akpeyi were all absent against the north Africans due to injury.

CSKA Moscow winger Chidera Ejuke, Midtjylland’s Frank Onyeka and Kevin Akpoguma of Hoffenheim were part of the invited players.

However, Genk striker Cyriel Dessers, who made his Super Eagles debut against Tunisia, did not make the list.

Other players invited for the double-header against Sierra Leone are Maduka Okoye, William Troost-Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun, Semi Ajayi, Chidozie Awaziem, Zaidu Sanusi, Ola Aina and Jamilu Collins.

Also listed are Tyronne Ebuehi, Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Samuel Chukwueze.

Meanwhile, seven players have been put on standby. The players are Francis Uzoho, Samson Tijani, Kelechi Nwakali, Shehu Abdullahi, Paul Onuachu, Ramon Azeez and Ikechukwu Ezenwa.

Uzoho only recently returned to action after being out with injury and was in goal for Apoel Nicosia in the Cyprus Cup on Wednesday.

Super Eagles 24-man squad for AFCON qualifiers against Sierra Leone:


Daniel Akpeyi 
Maduka Okoye 
Sebastian Osigwe


William Troost-Ekong 
Kenneth Omeruo
Leon Balogun 
Semi Ajayi
Chidozie Awaziem
Zaidu Sanusi 
Ola Aina 
Jamilu Collins 
Kevin Akpoguma 


Oghenekaro Etebo 
Tyronne Ebuehi
Frank Onyeka 
Joe Aribo 


Ahmed Musa 
Moses Simon 
Alex Iwobi 
Emmanuel Dennis 
Victor Osimhen 
Kelechi Iheanacho 
Samuel Chukwueze 
Chidera Ejuke 


Kelechi Nwakali
Francis Uzoho 
Samson Tijani 
Shehu Abdullahi 
Paul Onuachu 
Ramon Azeez 
Ikechukwu Ezenwa

 Click here to save this Post as PDF
Let us connect on social media forever;
Keep in touc


Serving news and stories to the people of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Contents created by Taiwo Hammed.
Keep in touc

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *